Complete Agenda



Democracy Service Swyddfa'r Cyngor CAERNARFON Gwynedd LL55 1SH

To: Members of the Council

4/10/21

Dear Member,

COUNCIL MEETING – 7 OCTOBER, 2021 LATE REPORT

I enclose a late report in respect of the following item:-

11. REVIEW OF GWYNEDD ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES 2 - 5

To submit the report of the Council Leader.

Yours sincerely,

Democracy Services Officer

www.gwynedd.llyw.cymru

Agenda Item 11

GWYNEDD COUNCIL

Report to a meeting of Gwynedd Council

Date of meeting:	7 October 2021
Title of Item:	Review of Gwynedd Electoral Boundaries
Purpose:	To report on the decision by Rebecca Evans MS, Minister for Finance and Local Government to accept the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales in respect of the County of Gwynedd.
Cabinet Member:	Councillor Dyfrig Siencyn, Council Leader
Contact Officer(s):	Dafydd Gibbard, Chief Executive

1. THE DECISION SOUGHT

It is recommended that the Full Council accepts the report for information.

2. BACKGROUND AND RATIONALE

Foreword

- All Council members will be aware that the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission has published its "Final Recommendations Report" for the review of the electoral arrangements for Gwynedd Council on 6 November, 2018. The report was presented to Full Council on 6th December, 2018.
- 2. **On the 29th September, 2021** Rebecca Evans MS, Minister for Finance and Local Government confirmed her decision to accept the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales with modifications, in respect of the County of Gwynedd.
- 3. All members received an email message on the 29th September, 2021 containing a link to the full information which is available on the member intranet.

MODIFICATIONS MADE TO THE COMMISSION'S FINAL RECOMMENDATIONS FOR ELECTORAL ARRANGEMENTS IN GWYNEDD

- 4. The Minister confirmed the modifications below to the final recommendations for electoral arrangements:
 - "The Commission recommended the single name of Brithdir, Llanfachreth, Y Ganllwyd a Llanelltyd. The electoral ward will be given the English name of Brithdir and Llanfachreth/Ganllwyd/Llanelltyd and the Welsh name of Brithdir a Llanfachreth/Y Ganllwyd/Llanelltud. This means the electoral ward names remain as at present.
 - The Commission recommended the single ward name Cwm-y-Glo. The electoral ward will be given the English name of Cwm-y-Glo and the Welsh name of Cwm-y-glo. This means the electoral ward names remain as at present."

SUMMARY OF MAIN CHANGES

- 5. The Commission recommends a change to the arrangement of electoral wards that will achieve a marked improvement in the level of electoral parity across the County of Gwynedd.
- 6. The main changes recommended by the Commission is as follows:
- I. A Council of **69 members**, a reduction from the present 75 members.
- II. **65 electoral wards**, a reduction form the 71 existing wards.
- III. 4 multi member wards in the County (four two member electoral wards) the wards as follows, Bethel a'r Felinheli, Canol Bangor, Dwyrain Bangor and Harlech a Llanbedr.
- IV. 10 electoral wards within the county which combine a part of a warded community along with its neighbouring community.
 (These community splits are present within the Town of Porthmadog, and the communities of Dolbenmaen, Llanddeiniolen, Llandwrog, Llandygai, Llanengan, Llanllyfni, Llannor, Llanwnda, Pentir and Waunfawr.)
- V. A number of boundary changes in the City of Bangor, the towns of Caernarfon, Dolgellau and Ffestiniog and the community of Bethesda.
 (The commission has recommended a number of consequential changes to Bangor City Council, Bethesda Community Council, Caernarfon (Royal) Town Council, Dolgellau Town Council and Ffestiniog Town Council as a result of these boundary changes).
 - 7. There will be no change to 27 of the current electoral wards.

Page 3

Arfon	Deiniolen, Groeslon, Llanberis, Llanrug, Penygroes, Dewi (Bangor), Glyder (Bangor), Tregarth a Mynydd Llandygai [8]
Dwyfor	Abererch, Criccieth, Dolbenmaen, Efailnewydd/Buan, Llanystumdwy, Nefyn, Porthmadog (Dwyrain/East), Porthmadog (Gorllewin/West), Pwllheli (De/South), Pwllheli (Gogledd/North), Llanaelhaearn [11]
Meirionydd	Aberdyfi, Dyffryn Ardudwy, Trawsfynydd, Abermaw, Brithdir, Bowydd a Rhiw, Corris a Mawddwy, Y Bala [8]

3. ANY CONSULTATIONS UNDERTAKEN PRIOR TO RECOMMENDING THE DECISION

The review process has been underway since 2017, and a number of consultations have been undertaken with all members during the period.
 Comments were presented to the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission as follows.

STAGE OF REVIEW	DESCRIPTION
08 February 2017	The Commission wrote to Gwynedd Council
10 February 2017 – 31	Initial Consultation Period.
May 2017	A number of consultations were undertaken with
	Members prior to the Local Government Elections of
	May 2017.
	Further consultations were undertaken with elected
	Members following the Local Government Elections
	in May 2017 as new members were elected.
	A report was sumbitted to Full Council on 15/06/2021
	with comments presented to the Commission.
23 January 2018	Draft proposals published by the Commission.
30 January 2018 – 23	Consultation period on draft proposals.
April 2018	A report was submitted to Full Council on 01/03/2018
	with comments presented to the Commission.
06 November 2018	Final Recommendations published by the
	Commission.
	A report was submitted to Full Council on 06/12/2018
	with comments presented to the Commission.

3.2 STATUTORY OFFICERS' OBSERVATIONS:

Monitoring Officer:

The report notes that that the journey of holding this review has taken some time. Now, with the Ministers statement confirming the intention in relation to implementation it will be possible to move forward in response to the position.

Statutory Finance Officer:

Nothing to add from a financial propriety perspective.